Home » Press Releases » PhD Studentships 2019
Bookmark and Share
Institute of Cosmology and Gravitation

PhD Studentships 2019

3 Dec 2018, 17:20 UTC
PhD Studentships 2019

The Institute of Cosmology & Gravitation at the University of Portsmouth is one of the leading groups in research on cosmology and astrophysics in the UK. We are active participants in a wide range of international collaborations, including the Dark Energy Survey (DES), the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory (LIGO), the Sloan Digital Sky Survey (SDSS-IV) and Euclid.
ICG PhD Students, October 2018
PhD studentships starting in October 2019 will be available for research in:

Galaxy evolution
Stellar population modelling
Very early Universe
Dark energy
Testing gravity on cosmological scales
Large scale structure
Gravitational lensing
Gravitational Waves

There is no formal closing date, but applicants are advised to submit an application as early as possible. If you are seeking financial support from the research councils, you should aim to submit by the end of January . Interviews for these studentships take place in February / March for entry in October. Applications will be considered until the positions are filled.
PhD applicants should have or expect to obtain a good honours degree or equivalent in Physics, Maths or Astronomy. Applicants should send a CV and a brief statement of research interests, and arrange for up to 2 letters of recommendation to be emailed directly to icg-admin@port.ac.uk, or posted to:
Research Administrator
Institute of Cosmology and Gravitation
Dennis Sciama Building
Burnaby Road
Portsmouth PO1 3FX
We welcome applications from all qualified applicants, but applications are particularly encouraged from traditionally under-represented groups in science. The University of Portsmouth holds an Athena SWAN bronze award and is an Institute of Physics Project Juno Supporter; these projects show a commitment to introduce organisational and cultural practices that promote gender equality in science and create a better working environment for men and women.

Scientific staff members:
Prof David Bacon
Dr Marco Bruni
Prof Rob Crittenden
Dr Ian Harry
Prof Kazuya Koyama
Dr Andrew Lundgren
Prof Roy Maartens
Prof Claudia Maraston
Prof Bob Nichol
Dr Laura Nuttall
Prof Will Percival
Prof Daniel Thomas
Prof David Wands
Dr Daniel Whalen

Note: All formatting and links have been removed - click title or image to see full article.

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day