Home » News & Blogs » How to watch Jeff Bezos’ Blue Origin flight on July 20
Bookmark and Share
EarthSky Blog

How to watch Jeff Bezos’ Blue Origin flight on July 20

17 Jul 2021, 12:00 UTC
How to watch Jeff Bezos’ Blue Origin flight on July 20
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

Jeff Bezos founded Blue Origin in 2000. The company’s name refers to the blue planet, Earth, as the point of origin. Image via Blue Origin.
Jeff Bezos’ Blue Origin flight is a 1st
Private spaceflight company Blue Origin is counting down the days to July 20, 2021, when it’ll launch billionaire founder Jeff Bezos and three others to suborbital space. It’ll be the first launch of Blue Origin’s New Shepard reusable launch vehicle with humans aboard. It’ll be live-streamed on Blue Origin’s website. The broadcast will begin at 11:30 UTC (7:30 a.m. EDT). Liftoff is slated for 13:00 UTC (9 a.m. EDT), as long as technical factors and the weather at Launch Site One in West Texas are agreeable.
The Tuesday date also falls on the 52nd anniversary of the Apollo 11 moon landing in 1969.
A typical New Shepard spaceflight lasts 11 minutes. Broadcasts will continue after the rocket’s landing, Blue Origin said in a statement on July 12. The company’s official Twitter feed will also be sharing mission updates throughout the day.
Bezos, who founded Amazon and owns the Washington Post, founded Blue Origin back in 2000. The company’s goal is in part space tourism, which is ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod