Home » News & Blogs » The Planets In Order (Including Dwarf Planets)
Bookmark and Share
Backyard Stargazers

The Planets In Order (Including Dwarf Planets)

25 May 2021, 10:51 UTC
The Planets In Order (Including Dwarf Planets)
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

In our Solar System, there are 8 lovely planets. The planets in order from the Sun are based on their distance: Mercury, Venus, Earth (aka mother earth), Mars, Jupiter (father sky), Saturn, and Uranus with Neptune to round out at number 8!

The solar system is an amazing place and there are plenty of planets to explore. Ceres, Pluto, Haumea, Makemake, and Eris might not be considered part of this club though; after all, they’re dwarfs!

As humans, we have always been fascinated by the planets and their characteristics. The dwarf planet Pluto was one of these fascinating subjects until 2006 when scientists in charge decided to change its classification from a planet into a dwarf planet.

The definition of a planet is that it must be in orbit around the sun, have enough mass to assume hydrostatic equilibrium resulting in a round shape. If they don’t clear their neighborhood then it may not comply with the requirements for this designation.

Though Pluto is no longer considered a planet, you may still find it in the night sky. Want to learn more about another Solar System? Well here are some quick facts and figures for each of our planets!


Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day