Home » News & Blogs » Two fireballs back to back over California
Bookmark and Share
American Meteor Society

Two fireballs back to back over California

11 Jun 2020, 09:21 UTC
Two fireballs back to back over California
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

Two big fireballs over California in two days
The AMS received over 110 reports so far about a fireball event that occurred over California (LA area) on June 10th, 2020 around 3:33 Universal Time (June 9th, 2020 08:33pm PDT). We also received nearly 90 reports about a similar event that occurred the next day North of San Francisco, CA. This second event occurred on June 11th 2020 around 03:51 Universal Time (June 10th, 2020 08:51pm PDT)

If you witnessed this event and/or if you have a video or a photo of this event, please
Submit an Official Fireball Report
If you want to learn more about Fireballs: read our Fireball FAQ.

AMS Event #2779-2020 – Witness location and estimated ground trajectory

AMS Event #2805-2020 – Witness location and estimated ground trajectory

Estimated 3D Trajectories
The preliminary trajectories computed based on all the reports submitted to the AMS so far shows that the tow fireballs were mainly travelling from
East to West. The first one (AMS#2779-2020

AMS Event #2779-2020 and AMS Event #2805-2020 – Estimated 3D trajectories

AMS Event #2779-2020 and AMS Event #2805-2020 – Estimated 3D trajectories

Fireball, Meteorite…?
Several thousand meteors of fireball magnitude occur in the Earth’s ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod