Home » News & Blogs » Exos ready for fourth launch of SARGE suborbital rocket
Bookmark and Share
NASASpaceFlight.com

Exos ready for fourth launch of SARGE suborbital rocket

26 Oct 2019, 11:31 UTC
Exos ready for fourth launch of SARGE suborbital rocket
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

After recovering from an unexpected navigation issue that triggered an in-flight engine shutdown on their last mission, Exos Aerospace is ready to return to flight with the fourth launch of their suborbital SARGE rocket.
The quick, up-down mission will carry experiments from nine universities and research organizations and will launch from Spaceport America in the U.S. state of New Mexico. Liftoff is scheduled for 11:00 EDT (09:00 MDT local time – and 15:00 UTC) on Saturday, 26 October.
SARGE stands for Suborbital Autonomous Rocket with GuidancE (SARGE) and is a Suborbital Reusable Launch Vehicle (SRLV) from Exos Aerospace.
Built on the STIG B platform, SARGE is a Liquid Oxygen/ethanol bipropellant vehicle using an LE23000FC series engine to produce 24.4 kilonewtons or 5,500 lbf of thrust at liftoff.
Standing 11 m (36 ft) tall and 51 cm (20 inches) in diameter, the sounding rocket (another name for small, suborbital vehicles) is capable of carrying a fleet of small scientific experiments weighing up to 50 kg total up to an altitude of ~80 km (49.7 miles).
Launching from Spaceport America, the Federal Aviation Administration – or FAA – in the United States issued Exos Aerospace a reusable launch vehicle mission launch ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod