Home » News & Blogs » End Of Mission: SpaceX, NASA to wrap Crew Dragon’s inaugural flight to Station
Bookmark and Share
NASASpaceFlight.com

End Of Mission: SpaceX, NASA to wrap Crew Dragon’s inaugural flight to Station

7 Mar 2019, 20:22 UTC
End Of Mission: SpaceX, NASA to wrap Crew Dragon’s inaugural flight to Station
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

Five days after docking to the International Space Station, the first crew-capable spacecraft from the United States in 8 years is set to end its inaugural mission with an undocking from the ISS Friday morning ahead of reentry and splashdown in the Atlantic Ocean off the northeast coast of Florida.
Undocking is currently set to occur at 02:31 EST (0731 UTC) with five hours of free-flight ahead of Crew Dragon’s deorbit burn at 07:53 EST (1253 UTC) and splashdown at 08:45 EST (1345 UTC).
Once Crew Dragon is safely home, an immense amount of work will commence to analyze all of the data gathered during this test flight – a series of reviews that will lead to the critical In-Flight Abort test before culminating with the planned return of human launches to the United States with the Demo-2 mission of another SpaceX Crew Dragon later this year.
Undocking:
The departure of SpaceX’s first Crew Dragon from the Station follows five days of docked checkouts of the vehicle as well as removal of the cargo brought up to the ISS inside the capsule and repacking it with a limited amount of supplies for return to Earth.
After Crew Dragon ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod