Home » News & Blogs » Blue Origin’s latest flight follows others in carrying NASA payloads
Bookmark and Share
SpaceFlight Insider

Blue Origin’s latest flight follows others in carrying NASA payloads

23 Jan 2019, 16:18 UTC
Blue Origin’s latest flight follows others in carrying NASA payloads
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

Archive Photo Credit: Blue Origin
The tenth New Shepard Mission, NS-10, from privately-funded Blue Origin soared off the pad at 9:08 a.m. CST (10:08 a.m. EST / 15:08 GMT) on Wednesday, Jan. 23 at the company’s launch facilities located in Culberson County, Texas. The mission included several experiments flown on behalf of NASA and was, by current reports, a success.
New Shepard. Image Credit: Blue Origin
At T-0, the BE-3PM engine activated, propelling the vehicle off the pad with 110,000 pounds of thrust, accelerating it beyond Mach 3.
About a minute into the flight New Shepard reached maximum dynamic pressure, with aerodynamic pressures on the vehicle reached their maximum.
At two and a half minutes into the flight, the vehicle experienced main engine cutoff with the vehicle reaching its apogee (the farthest point in its ascent) approximately five minutes after it had left the pad. Upon reaching this point in its sub-orbital flight the vehicle began its descent back to Earth culminating with a soft landing at around 10:16 a.m. local time.
According to a tweet the company posted the mission appeared to be “wholly successful.”
The New Shepard is the company’s reusable flagship craft, having flown nine ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod