Home » News & Blogs » Spacecraft Down: Cassini is Gone
Bookmark and Share
Lights in the Dark

Spacecraft Down: Cassini is Gone

15 Sep 2017, 12:04 UTC
Spacecraft Down: Cassini is Gone
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

It’s official: Cassini’s mission at Saturn is over. Today, at 6:31 a.m. EDT (10:31 UTC), Cassini entered the atmosphere of Saturn. A little over a minute later it sent its final transmission back to Earth before succumbing to the physical forces of entry. That signal, Cassini’s last piece of data, ended at 7:55 a.m. EDT (11:55 UTC). After over thirteen years in orbit Cassini is now a part of Saturn; its work is done.
Mission accomplished.
About 14 hours earlier Cassini transmitted its final images of Saturn to Earth. You can see some of those below:
RGB composite of Cassini’s final images of Saturn, acquired Sept. 13, 2017.
Cassini’s last image of Enceladus, captured Sept. 13.
Mosaic of Saturn made from images acquired on Sept. 13, 2017.
Cassini’s final signal, which ended 4:55 a.m. PDT Sept. 15, 2017 Tagged: Cassini, grand finale, NASA, News, Saturn, space, spacecraft

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod