Home » News & Blogs » Roscosmos set for Soyuz MS-05 crew launch to bring Station back to full crew
Bookmark and Share
NASASpaceFlight.com

Roscosmos set for Soyuz MS-05 crew launch to bring Station back to full crew

28 Jul 2017, 12:18 UTC
Roscosmos set for Soyuz MS-05 crew launch to bring Station back to full crew
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

The Russian Federal Space Agency, Roscosmos, is preparing for the launch of three new crewmembers to the International Space Station aboard the Soyuz MS-05 vehicle. Liftoff is scheduled for 15:41 GMT (11:41 EDT; 17:41 CEST) from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan to begin a fast-tracked, four-orbit rendezvous with the Station. If all goes to plan, the MS-05 crew will dock to the ISS at 22:00 GMT (18:00 EDT; 00:00 CEST on 29 July).

Soyuz MS-05 – returning the Station to six crew:
Soyuz MS-05 will represent the 134th flight of a crewed Soyuz vehicle and the 60th launch of the Soyuz-FG rocket since it entered service in 2001.
Specifically, the mission will utilize Soyuz spacecraft No. 736. Originally, MS-05 was to use spacecraft No. 735 and launch on 29 May 2017; however, in January, technicians discovered that the original Soyuz for MS-04, No. 734, had a leak in its thermal control system, SOTR.
The timeline to fix No. 734 would not allow its use until September, prompting Roscosmos to advance No. 735 to MS-04 and No. 736 to MS-05.
However, No. 736’s processing timeline would only allow it to be advanced from its original September readiness date to 28 July.

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod