Home » News & Blogs » History Is Made Today As Dawn Arrives At Ceres
Bookmark and Share
Lights in the Dark

History Is Made Today As Dawn Arrives At Ceres

6 Mar 2015, 15:40 UTC
History Is Made Today As Dawn Arrives At Ceres NASA/JPL
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

It’s official – NASA’s Dawn spacecraft has arrived at the dwarf planet Ceres! Today, March 6 2015, at 7:39 a.m. EST (12:39 UTC) Dawn was captured by Ceres’ gravity at a distance of 38,000 miles (61,155 km). Mission controllers at JPL received a signal from the spacecraft at 8:36 a.m. EST (13:36 UTC) that Dawn was healthy and […]

Image of the 600-mile-wide Ceres captured by Dawn on March 1, 2015. (NASA/JPL-Caltech/UCLA/MPS/DLR/IDA)
It’s official – NASA’s Dawn spacecraft has arrived at the dwarf planet Ceres! Today, March 6 2015, at 7:39 a.m. EST (12:39 UTC) Dawn was captured by Ceres’ gravity at a distance of 38,000 miles (61,155 km). Mission controllers at JPL received a signal from the spacecraft at 8:36 a.m. EST (13:36 UTC) that Dawn was healthy and thrusting with its ion engine, indicating Dawn had entered orbit as planned.
Illustration of Dawn’s arrival (far left) and orbit at Ceres. (NASA/JPL)
Over the next several weeks Dawn will move into a lower orbit around Ceres, making observations along the way.
Dawn is the first spacecraft to successfully enter orbit around two worlds and the first to orbit a dwarf planet. Its first target was the asteroid Vesta, which ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod