Home » Press Releases » Sentinel-6 Michael Freilich Launch Readiness Review, Televised Briefings on Tap Today
Bookmark and Share
NASA Kennedy Space Center

Sentinel-6 Michael Freilich Launch Readiness Review, Televised Briefings on Tap Today

20 Nov 2020, 16:05 UTC
Sentinel-6 Michael Freilich Launch Readiness Review, Televised Briefings on Tap Today

Today, launch and mission managers are holding the final major review, called the Launch Readiness Review, for the Sentinel-6 Michael Freilich mission that will launch from Space Launch Complex 4 at Vandenberg Air Force Base in California. Launch is targeted for 9:17 a.m. PST (12:17 p.m. EST) on Saturday, Nov. 21.
Coming up today at 12:30 p.m. PST (3:30 p.m. EST) is a science briefing, live on NASA Television and the agency’s website. Participants are:

Karen St. Germain, director, NASA Earth Science Division, NASA HQ
Josh Willis, Sentinel-6 Michael Freilich project scientist, NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) (remote)
Craig Donlon, Sentinel-6 mission scientist, European Space Agency (remote)
Remko Scharroo, programme scientist for Sentinel-6 EUMESTAT (remote)
Deirdre Byrne, oceanographer, NOAA (remote)
Luanne Thompson, Walters Professor of Oceanography, University of Washington (remote)

A prelaunch news conference will be held today at 2 p.m. PST (5 p.m. EST), live on NASA Television and the agency’s website. Participants are:

Thomas Zurbuchen, associate administrator for Science Mission Directorate, NASA HQ
Johann-Dietrich Worner, Director-General, European Space Agency
Pierrik Vuilleumier, Sentinel-6 Michael Freilich project manager, European Space Agency
Parag Vaze, Sentinel-6 Michael Freilich project manager, JPL
Tim Dunn, NASA Launch Director, Launch Services Program, NASA’s Kennedy Space Center
Julianna Scheiman, program manager, NASA Launch Services, SpaceX
Anthony Mastalir, commander, 30th Space Wing and Western Launch and Test Range
John Ott, weather officer, 30th Space Wing

NASA TV launch coverage will begin at 8:45 a.m. PST (11:45 a.m. EST) on Nov. 21.
Follow along with launch activities and get more information about the mission at: https://www.nasa.gov/sentinel-6.
Learn more about NASA’s Launch Services Program at: https://www.nasa.gov/centers/kennedy/launchingrockets/index.html.
Stay connected with the mission on social media, and let people know you’re following it on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram using the hashtag #SeeingTheSeas and tag these accounts:
Twitter: @NASA, @NASAEarth, @NASA_JPL, @NASASocial, @ESA, @ESA_EO, @EU_Commission, @NOAA, @CNES, @Eumetsat, @CopernicusEU, @defis_eu  @SpaceX, @NASA_LSP, @NASA360, 30thSpaceWing
Facebook: NASA, NASA JPL, NASA Earth, NASA LSP, 30thSpaceWing
Instagram: NASA, NASAJPL, NASAEarth, Vandenberg_AFB

Note: All formatting and links have been removed - click title or image to see full article.

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod