Home » News & Blogs » Calibration Maneuvers Today
Bookmark and Share
SDO is GO

Calibration Maneuvers Today

7 Apr 2021, 16:47 UTC
Calibration Maneuvers Today
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

SDO will execute two calibration maneuvers on April 7, 2021. The EVE Field of View (FOV) maneuver will begin at 1315 UTC (8:15 am ET). The HMI/AIA Flatfield maneuver will begin at 1630 UTC (11:30 am ET). During a calibration manuever the SDO science data may be missing or blurred. HMI science data is only available when SDO is in Sun-pointing mode. Here is an AIA 171 Å picture from today's maneuver. The straight edges on the left and top show that SDO is pointed slightly away from Sun center. The image is re-centered by the processing software.

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod