Home » News & Blogs » Up to three launches planned this weekend from Cape Canaveral
Bookmark and Share
Spaceflight Now

Up to three launches planned this weekend from Cape Canaveral

28 Aug 2020, 16:56 UTC
Up to three launches planned this weekend from Cape Canaveral
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

In this long exposure file photo from May 2019, a Falcon 9 rocket is seen streaking into space from Cape Canaveral, with its first stage booster returning to landing minutes later on a drone ship just offshore. Credit: SpaceX
Delays have set up the possibility of up to three rocket launches this weekend from different pads along Florida’s Space Coast, including two SpaceX missions on Sunday that could set a company record for the shortest span between two Falcon 9 rocket launches.
But in the world of ever-changing launch schedules, numerous factors such as weather and technical issues could thwart launch plans this weekend.
The first in line is United Launch Alliance’s powerful Delta 4-Heavy rocket, which is scheduled to take off at 2:04 a.m. EDT (0604 GMT) Saturday from pad 37B at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station with a classified payload for the National Reconnaissance Office, which owns the U.S. government’s fleet of clandestine spy satellites.
There is an 80 percent chance of good weather for launch of the Delta 4-Heavy Saturday, according to the U.S. Space Force’s 45th Weather Squadron at Cape Canaveral. The publicly-released launch period extends until 6:25 a.m. EDT (1025 GMT), although the public period ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod