Home » News & Blogs » Watch America’s Return to Flight Launch Live!
Bookmark and Share
Lights in the Dark

Watch America’s Return to Flight Launch Live!

30 May 2020, 14:22 UTC
Watch America’s Return to Flight Launch Live!
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

Photo of the SpaceX Dragon spacecraft atop the Falcon 9 at Kennedy Space Center’s Pad 39A, access arm in the foreground. (Credit: SpaceX)
Just a reminder that you can watch today’s launch of SpaceX’s Crew Dragon spacecraft, carrying NASA astronauts Doug Hurley and Bob Behnken to the Space Station from Kennedy Space Center’s historic Pad 39A, live right here on Lights in the Dark!
Today’s Demo-2 launch will be the first time NASA astronauts will launch to space from the United States since the final flight of the Space Shuttle with STS-135 Atlantis on July 8, 2011. (Doug Hurley was also a crew member on that flight, interestingly enough!) This will be the first crewed flight of SpaceX’s Crew Dragon vehicle, as well as their first-ever crewed mission.
This is the second launch attempt of Demo-2; the first on May 27 was scrubbed due to weather violations. Today’s weather at Cape Canaveral looks to be about 50% favorable for launch.
Today’s instantaneous launch window opens at 3:22 p.m. ET / 19:22 UTC. NASA coverage of the historic event will air live starting at 11:00 a.m. ET / 15:00 UTC.
Watch live here.
NASA astronauts Robert Behnken, left, and Douglas ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod