Home » News & Blogs » Watch 1st all-female spacewalk
Bookmark and Share
EarthSky Blog

Watch 1st all-female spacewalk

16 Oct 2019, 17:14 UTC
Watch 1st all-female spacewalk
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

NASA astronauts Christina Koch and Jessica Meir. Image via NASA.
Two NASA astronauts aboard the International Space Station (ISS) will make history this week by performing the first ever all-female spacewalk, currently scheduled for Friday, October 18, 2019. Astronauts Christina Koch and Jessica Meir will venture outside the station to replace a power controller that failed over the weekend. This will be Koch’s fourth spacewalk and Meir’s first.
NASA TV’s live coverage of the spacewalk will begin on Friday at 10:30 UTC (6:30 a.m. EDT), and the spacewalk itself is scheduled to start at 11:50 UTC (7:50 a.m. EDT). Translate UTC to your time.
Watch here.
The spacewalk had been scheduled for October 21. But NASA announced on Tuesday that it would be pushed forward to late this week, and as of this writing, the agency has the spacewalk scheduled for Friday morning.
What would have been the first all-woman spacewalk was controversially postponed in March 2019 because there were not enough medium-sized space suits on the ISS to fit both women.
Learn more about the ISS research, operations, and crew. Image via NASA.
The failure of the power controller – called a Battery Charge/Discharge Unit (BCDU) – ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod