Home » News & Blogs » Daily Space 8/13/2019
Bookmark and Share
CosmoQuest

Daily Space 8/13/2019

13 Aug 2019, 18:59 UTC
Daily Space 8/13/2019
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

The #DailySpace brings you the universe at 10am PST / 1pm EST / 5pm GMT on twitch.tv/CosmoQuestX. Today’s #spacenews includes the following stories:

https://www.asteroidmission.org/?latest-news=nasa-mission-selects-final-four-site-candidates-asteroid-sample-return
Yesterday, all of us were surprised to see a series of NASA social media posts and a press release announcing the sites selected for followup observations and detailed examination as the mission team works to find the safest and most scientifically interesting places for the little mission to explore.
CosmoQuest has been part of this project, but as a contractor to the University of Arizona, I didn’t know NASA’s release was coming, and I have to admit, my day got a bit distracted, and yesterday’s Daily Space episode didn’t get written up for those following along on Patreon.com/CosmoQuestX. Don’t worry folks, I will be catching up… but only after I catch you up on all things Bennu.
The original mission plan has had to get radically redone on a regular basis as we’ve gone from what we imagined Bennu would look like to seeing what the world actually is. We’d thought, the selected sample sites would be nice, danger free areas with a radius of at least 25 m or 82 feet. Bennu had other ideas ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod