Home » News & Blogs » Es’hail-2 awards at RSGB AGM
Bookmark and Share

Es’hail-2 awards at RSGB AGM

28 Apr 2019, 13:31 UTC
Es’hail-2 awards at RSGB AGM
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

AMSAT-DL President Peter Guelzow DB2OS
At the RSGB AGM in Birmingham on Saturday, April 27, 2019 two awards were made in recognition of work related to the amateur radio transponders on the geostationary satellite Es’hail-2 / QO-100.
The prestigious Louis Varney Cup for Advances in Space Communication was awarded to Peter Gülzow DB2OS for his leadership of the team responsible for the Qatar-OSCAR-100 mission which is now in service.
Dave Crump G8GKQ, Phil Crump M0DNY and Noel Matthews G8GTZ receive award from RSGB President Dave Wilson M0OBW – image credit RSGB
The Fraser Shepherd Award for Research into Microwave Applications for Radio Communication was awarded to Dave Crump G8GKQ, Phil Crump M0DNY, Noel Matthews G8GTZ and Graham Shirville G3VZV for enabling access for all the amateur radio community to QO-100 by developing and installing a narrow band transponder WebSDR, and wide band transponder spectrum monitor.
After the award presentation Dave, Phil and Noel gave a talk on Es’hail-2 / QO-100 covering a brief history of how the project came about, an overview of equipment required to operate QO-100 and an introduction and a demonstration of the WebSDR and spectrum monitor, which allow you to listen to stations on the narrow ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day