Home » News & Blogs » CubeSats to launch from New Zealand
Bookmark and Share
AMSAT-UK

CubeSats to launch from New Zealand

7 Dec 2018, 14:53 UTC
CubeSats to launch from New Zealand
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

Electron rocket in New Zealand Dec 6, 2018 – credit Rocket Lab
Terry Osborne ZL2BAC has provided some information on the upcoming launch from New Zealand of 10 CubeSats on the Rocket Labs Electron ELaNa-19 mission, a number of the satellites carry amateur radio payloads.
On the AMSAT Bulletin Board Terry writes:
From Rocket Lab’s recent twitter post:
A nine-day launch window for the ELaNa-19 mission opens 13 – 21 December 2018, UTC.
Lift-off from Launch Complex 1 is scheduled between:
04:00 – 08:00 UTC (13 Dec) 17:00 – 21:00
NZDT (13 Dec) 20:00 – 00:00
PST (12/13 Dec) 23:00 – 03:00
EST (12/13 Dec)
See https://www.rocketlabusa.com/news/updates/rocket-lab-prepares-to-launch-historic-small-satellite-mission-for-nasa/
The launch will be streamed from their web site at https://www.rocketlabusa.com/live-stream
See also https://www.rocketlabusa.com/launch-info/launch-complex-1/
Satellites to be launched are:
ELaNa XIX
Date: NET December 11, 2018
Mission: Rocket Lab Flight 4, Electron, Mahia, New Zealand
10 CubeSat Missions scheduled to be deployed
• ALBUS – NASA Glenn Research Center, Cleveland, Ohio
• CeREs – NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, Maryland
• CHOMPTT – University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida
• CubeSail – University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
• DaVinci – North Idaho STEM Charter Academy, Rathdrum, Idaho
• ISX – SRI International/ California ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod