Home » News & Blogs » Astronauts Are Taking a Spacewalk Outside the Space Station Today: Watch Live
Bookmark and Share
Astronaut.com

Astronauts Are Taking a Spacewalk Outside the Space Station Today: Watch Live

16 May 2018, 12:52 UTC
Astronauts Are Taking a Spacewalk Outside the Space Station Today: Watch Live
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

Two NASA astronauts will work in space today (May 16) outside of the International Space Station (ISS), and you can watch their 6.5-hour spacewalk, or extra-vehicular activity (EVA), live online.
NASA astronaut Drew Feustel “hangs” from the International Space Station during a spacewalk on March 29, 2018.Credit: NASA
NASA astronaut Drew Feustel “hangs” from the International Space Station during a spacewalk on March 29, 2018.Credit: NASA

Expedition 55 flight engineers Drew Feustel and Ricky Arnold will exit the station through the Quest airlock at around 8:10 a.m. EDT (1210 GMT). NASA will provide live coverage starting at 6:30 a.m. EDT (1030 GMT), when the astronauts are getting ready for their work and putting on their spacesuits. You can watch it live here and on the Space.com homepage, courtesy of NASA TV.
The astronauts will upgrade the station’s cooling system hardware and also install new communications equipment to help with future dockings of commercial crew spacecraft.
First, they will move a component called the Pump Flow Control Subassembly (PFCS) from a spare parts platform to an area within reach of the Special Purpose Dexterous Manipulator, or “Dextre,” a two-armed robot outside the station. The astronauts will also remove a failed subassembly ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod