FEATURED IMAGE: 25 Apr 2018, 17:00 UTC | Ancient Galaxy Megamergers 26 April 2018, 11:46:20UTC RSS RSS | About | Contact | Site Map
Home » News & Blogs » NASA Launches TESS – LIVE
Bookmark and Share
Tom's Astronomy Blog

NASA Launches TESS – LIVE

16 Apr 2018, 22:01 UTC
NASA Launches TESS – LIVE
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

Launch coverage begins about 15 minutes prior to launch.
Mission: Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite
Launch time: 22:32 UT / 18:32 ET.
Launch Window Duration: 30 seconds (?!)
Alternate Launch Date/Time: 17 April 2018 at 22:13 UTC / 18:13 ET
Launch site: Space Launch Complex 40 (SLC-40) at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Florida.
Rocket: SpaceX Falcon 9
First Stage Landing Attempt? Yes aboard the drone ship Of Course I Still Love You
Fairing Recovery Attempt? Not specified.
About TESS (via SpaceX): The Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite is NASA’s next planet finder, led out of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Kavli Institute for Astrophysics and Space Research. TESS will discover new potential planets orbiting bright host stars relatively close to Earth. In a two-year survey of the solar neighborhood, TESS will search for tell-tale dips in the brightness of stars that indicate an orbiting planet regularly transiting across the face of its star. The satellite is expected to catalog thousands of exoplanet candidates around a wide range of star types, including hundreds of planets that are less than twice the size of Earth. The TESS mission is expected to find planets ranging from small, rocky worlds to gas giants.
Go ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod