Home » News & Blogs » Station Keeping Maneuver #16 Today
Bookmark and Share
SDO is GO

Station Keeping Maneuver #16 Today

14 Feb 2018, 20:01 UTC
Station Keeping Maneuver #16 Today
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

SDO will perform station-keeping maneuver #16 today. The maneuver begins at 22:12 UTC (5:12 pm ET) and lasts until 22:56 UTC (5:56 pm ET). During the maneuver science data may be blurry or unavailable. Station-keeping maneuvers are performed to keep SDO inside of its box in the geostationary belt. Even though SDO’s orbit is inclined 28° to the equator (where geostationary satellites orbit), we pass through the geostationary belt twice each day. We must stay inside our longitude box to avoid interfering with our neighbors. SK maneuvers happen about twice each year.

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod