Home » News & Blogs » China Launches Beidou Satellites, SpaceX Preps for Busy Launch Week
Bookmark and Share
Parabolic Arc

China Launches Beidou Satellites, SpaceX Preps for Busy Launch Week

13 Feb 2018, 16:39 UTC
China Launches Beidou Satellites, SpaceX Preps for Busy Launch Week
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

Atlas V booster (Credit: ULA)
A Chinese Long March 3B booster successfully orbited two Beidou navigational satellites on Monday. The flight, which took off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center, was the seventh orbital launch by China in 2018, leading all nations thus far.

SpaceX also conducted a static fire of a Falcon 9 booster on Monday at Vandenberg Air Force Base in California. The rocket is set to launch Hisdesat’s Paz satellite on Saturday using a previously-flown first stage. The launch will be followed by another flight five days later from Cape Canaveral in Florida.
Here is the launch schedule for the weeks ahead. Check for updates here.
Feb. 17
Launch Vehicle: Falcon 9
Payload: Paz
Launch Time: 9:22 a.m. EST; 6:22 a.m. PST (1422 GMT)
Launch Site: Vandenberg Air Force Base, California
Built by Airbus Defense and Space, Hisdesat’s Paz satellite will provide radar imaging as well as ship tracking and weather data. The flight will use a previously-flown first stage.
Feb. 22

Launch Vehicle: Falcon 9
Payload: Hispasat 30W-6
Launch Window: 12:30 a.m. EST (0530 GMT)
Launch Site: Cape Canaveral, Florida
The Hispasat 30W-6 satellite, built by Space Systems/Loral, will provide communications services over Europe, North Africa ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod