Home » News & Blogs » Progress MS-08 cargo ship launches on two-day trek to ISS
Bookmark and Share
SpaceFlight Insider

Progress MS-08 cargo ship launches on two-day trek to ISS

13 Feb 2018, 11:00 UTC
Progress MS-08 cargo ship launches on two-day trek to ISS
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

Progress MS-08 is launched by a Soyuz 2.1a rocket. Photo Credit: Roscosmos
After a two-day launch delay, Progress MS-08, an autonomous Russian cargo spacecraft, is on its way to the International Space Station.
Liftoff atop a Soyuz 2.1a rocket occurred at 3:13 a.m. EST (08:13 GMT) Feb. 13, 2018, from launch pad 31 at the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan. The spacecraft is carrying some 3,060 pounds (1,390 kilograms) of dry cargo, 1,960 pounds (890 kilograms) of fuel, and 926 pounds (420 kilograms) of water, and 100 pounds (46 kilograms) of oxygen to the outpost.
Progress MS-08 will spend 34 orbits catching up with the ISS before docking to the aft port of the Zvezda service module at the rear of the orbiting laboratory. Docking is anticipated to occur around 5:43 a.m. EST (10:43 GMT) Feb. 15, 2018.
The launch was supposed to occur Feb. 11. However, the countdown was scrubbed less than a minute before the planned liftoff. Everything during the attempt appeared to proceed smoothly up to the abort. At around 35 seconds before the planned liftoff time, the first of two umbilical towers were retracted as planned. A second, smaller tower was supposed to retract around the 12-second ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod