Home » News & Blogs » How Rare Is The All-In-One Supermoon, Blue Moon, And Lunar Eclipse, Really?
Bookmark and Share
Starts With a Bang!

How Rare Is The All-In-One Supermoon, Blue Moon, And Lunar Eclipse, Really?

31 Jan 2018, 15:01 UTC
How Rare Is The All-In-One Supermoon, Blue Moon, And Lunar Eclipse, Really?
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

Stages of the Jan. 31, 2018 “super blue blood moon” (weather permitting) are depicted in Pacific Time with “moonset” times for major cities across the U.S., which affect how much of the event viewers will see. While viewers along the East Coast will see only the initial stages of the eclipse before moonset, those in the West and Hawaii will see most or all of the lunar eclipse phases before dawn. Image credit: NASA.The ‘big event’ was billed as a first in 150 years. But is what we’re seeing really that rare?This January 31st, something quite rare and special will happen. At 1:30 PM, Universal Time (8:30 AM Eastern / 5:30 AM Pacific), the Moon will reach its full phase for the second time in the month of January, making it a blue Moon. The full Moon also occurs very close to perigee, where the Moon makes its closest approach to Earth in its elliptical orbit, occurring close enough to create a Supermoon, where the full Moon is up to 14% brighter than average. And finally, the Moon will fully slip into the Earth’s shadow during this time, creating a total lunar eclipse. NASA is calling it the “Super Blood ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod