Home » News & Blogs » 2018 Maneuvers, Past and Future
Bookmark and Share
SDO is GO

2018 Maneuvers, Past and Future

29 Jan 2018, 23:09 UTC
2018 Maneuvers, Past and Future
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

SDO ran a number of maneuvers during January 2018. Science data may be unavailable or blurry on days when a maneuver is run. During eclipse season the Earth blocks the Sun for up to 72 minutes each day around 0700 UTC (2:00 am ET). This is also midnight Mountain Time, the timezone of the SDO ground station. 01/03/18: RWA Jitter Test Successful: Instruments reported no blurring in images; ISS performance looked reasonable. 01/17/18: EVE Cruciform Successfully Executed 01/24/18: HMI roll, starting at 1500 UTC (10:00 am ET) 02/10/18: Spring 2018 Eclipse Season Begins 02/14/18: Stationkeeping Maneuver #16 (2234 UTC, 5:34 pm ET) 03/05/18: Spring 2018 Eclipse Season Ends Above is a movie in AIA 171 Å showing the effects of the EVE Cruciform on January 17, 2018. During the HMI Roll the Sun appears to rotate.

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod