Home » News & Blogs » The S.S. Gene Cernan OA-8 Cygnus arrives at ISS
Bookmark and Share
SpaceFlight Insider

The S.S. Gene Cernan OA-8 Cygnus arrives at ISS

14 Nov 2017, 18:30 UTC
The S.S. Gene Cernan OA-8 Cygnus arrives at ISS
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

The OA-8 Cygnus, named S.S. Gene Cernan, is captured by the International Space Station’s robotic Canadarm2. Photo Credit: NASA
After a two-day trek, Orbital ATK’s OA-8 Cygnus cargo ship arrived at the International Space Station. The vehicle was berthed to the outpost at 7:15 a.m. EST (12:15 GMT) Nov. 14, 2017, and will remain attached for several weeks.
Named “S.S. Gene Cernan” after the late Moonwalker, the spacecraft is loaded with about 7,400 pounds (3,350 kilograms) of pressurized cargo. Over the coming weeks, the space station’s Expedition 53 crew will unload the equipment.
An Orbital ATK Antares 230 rocket lifts off with the OA-8 Cygnus at 7:19 a.m. EST (12:19 GMT) Nov. 12, 2017, from the Mid-Atlantic Regional Spaceport’s Pad 0A. Photo Credit: Mike Deep / SpaceFlight Insider
“Today’s flawless rendezvous and arrival at the International Space Station signals the start of a busy month for Cygnus as the spacecraft once again demonstrates its capability beyond cargo delivery and removal,” Frank Culbertson, president of Orbital ATK’s Space Systems Group, said in company press release. “On this mission, the ‘S.S. Gene Cernan’ Cygnus will act as an extension of the space station for the first time by supporting science experiments inside ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod