Home » News & Blogs » Follow Cassini's last moments (15 September)
Bookmark and Share
Astroblog

Follow Cassini's last moments (15 September)

13 Sep 2017, 13:42 UTC
Follow Cassini's last moments (15 September)
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

Final track of the Cassini spacecraft before it impacts Saturns atmosphere (Source ESA)As I write, the Cassini spacecraft, which for 13 years has been sending back astounding images of Saturn, it's rings and Moons, is 1 hours and 22 minutes from its final fiery plunge into Saturn's atmosphere.Source: XKCD Cassini's death dive is to ensure any earth bacteria which may have survived on the spacecraft do not contaminate Saturn's Moons.You can follow Cassin's path in virtual reality at Where is Cassini Now? The final plunge will occur sometime around 11:54 UT (which is 21:54 AEST). There will be ;live coverage form NASA https://www.nasa.gov/nasalive and the ESA.Live coverage starts at around 21:00 AEST (11:00 UT) on the 15th.Other Cassini end of mission information is here.https://saturn.jpl.nasa.gov/mission/grand-finale/overview/http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Space_Science/Cassini-Huygens/How_to_follow_Cassini_s_end_of_missionAny Australian astronomer who has access to a one meter or greater telescope with planetary imaging capability should try and capture the fireball. As per IceinSpaces call.=============================================================*** A CALL OUT TO AUSSIES WITH ACCESS TO A ONE METRE TELESCOPE WITH PLANETARY IMAGING *** On 15th September 2017, we will sadly bid farewell to the Cassini Mission ending with the spacecraft being hurled into Saturn's atmosphere. Australia has front row seating for this event. The attached simulation shows ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod