Home » News & Blogs » Small fire extinguished at SpaceX building in Port Canaveral
Bookmark and Share
SpaceFlight Insider

Small fire extinguished at SpaceX building in Port Canaveral

17 Jul 2017, 05:30 UTC
Small fire extinguished at SpaceX building in Port Canaveral
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

On July 16, 2017, a SpaceX building at Port Canaveral was reported to have had a fire on its rooftop. The small fire was quickly extinguished by firefighters. Photo Credit: Google Maps
Brevard County firefighters responded to a fire located at the recently-leased SpaceX building at Magellan Road and Grouper Road next to Port Canaveral. The fire was reported by a passer-by at 4:45 p.m. EDT (20:45 GMT) July 16, 2017.
Several minutes later, numerous fire units responded to the location along with support ambulances and Brevard County sheriff deputies. The building was found to have a rooftop fire, which was easily accessed by a ladder truck and was extinguished, according to Florida Today, by 8 p.m. EDT (00:00 GMT July 17).
Brevard County Fire Rescue found the structure to be unoccupied at the time of arrival, and Brevard County Sheriff’s Office Public Information Officer Tod Goodyear confirmed no evacuation was required. The only injury reported was a firefighter that suffered from a heat stress related injury and was transported to a local hospital by ambulance.
Captain Brian Dennison of the Cape Canaveral Fire Department told SpaceFlight Insider the fire occurred where contractors were doing some refurbishment to the building. ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod