Home » News & Blogs » CRS-10 Dragon Unberthed, Recovered in Pacific Ocean
Bookmark and Share
Astro Watch

CRS-10 Dragon Unberthed, Recovered in Pacific Ocean

20 Mar 2017, 21:47 UTC
CRS-10 Dragon Unberthed, Recovered in Pacific Ocean
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

The 10th SpaceX Dragon spacecraft to visit the International Space Station (ISS) left the outpost on March 19, 2017, and fell back to Earth. The capsule splashed down in the Pacific Ocean at 7:46 a.m. PDT (14:46 GMT) and was recovered off the coast of Baja California.Having been attached to the station for a month, the CRS-10 Dragon was unberthed by the robotic Canadarm2. Expedition 50 Commander Shane Kimbrough and Flight Engineer Thomas Pesquet were at the controls on the robotic workstation inside the outposts Cupola window a couple hours later to give the command to release the spacecraft at 5:11 a.m. EDT (09:11 GMT).After the spacecraft was released, a number of commands were executed to safely move Dragon away from the outpost including a short firing of the Draco thrusters a couple minutes after separation and another some 90 seconds later to push the capsule outside the station’s “Keep-Out Sphere” – an area of about 656 feet (200 meters) around the complex.A third departure burn moved Dragon away from the vicinity of the outpost to prepare the vehicle for its 10-minute deorbit burn. That occurred just after 9 a.m. EDT (13:00 GMT).Once the burn was complete, the trunk section, ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod