Home » News & Blogs » Welcome NASA Presidential Innovation Fellows!
Bookmark and Share

Welcome NASA Presidential Innovation Fellows!

15 Sep 2014, 19:26 UTC
Welcome NASA Presidential Innovation Fellows!
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

NASA is thrilled to welcome three of 27 Third Round Presidential Innovation Fellows. The Fellows (also known as PIFs) are working on three types on innovation challenges: 1) 21st Century Veterans Experience, 2) Data Innovation, and 3) Crowdsourcing. Dan Hammer will join our office (Office of the Chief Information Officer) to work data innovation projects to support our open gov/open data efforts. Lea Shanley will join Jason Kessler in the Office of the Chief Technologist to help with Asteroid Grand Challenge crowdsourcing efforts. Jeff Chen will join Michael Goodman and Curt Tilmes in the Science Mission Directorate to work on data innovation to support the Climate Data Initiative.

Orientation began last week. Agency partners were invited to attend the swearing in ceremony and tag along with the PIFs during some of the orientation sessions. I was privileged to attend some of the training sessions. Along with our new NASA PIFs, I also met Sara Brooks and Andrea Ippolito, who will join Veterans Administration; Tyrone Grandison, who joins the Department of Labor; Maia Hansen, going to NOAA; and Tim Jones, who joins Energy. I look forward to meeting all the PIFs over the coming year, and to the innovation magic they ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day